Tibet and Western China in brief

Geographical features:

The Western part of China consists of one municipality – Chongqing, six provinces –  Sichuan, Guizhou, Yunnan, Shaanxi, Gansu and Qinghai, and three autonomous regions – Tibet, Ningxia and Xinjiang

Population: more than 300.000.000 people

Borders: North – Mongolia; Northwest – Kazakhstan; West – Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Afghanistan and Pakistan; Southwest – India and Nepal, Bhutan and Bangladesh , and Burma; South – Laos and Vietnam

The total area: 5,473,600 sq.km

Important waterway: Yellow River (Huang He) – the second longest river in China, well protected and a “birthplace” of Chinese Civilization

Important cities: Ürümqi and Lhasa

Highest point: The Mount Everest or Chomolungma among Tibetans

Lowest point: Turpan Depression Continue reading “Tibet and Western China in brief”


Exploring China


Territorial boundaries: North – Mongolia, Northwest – Kyrgyzstan, Kazakhstan, Northeast – Russia, East – East China Sea, North Korea, South – Vietnam, Laos, Burma, Southwest – Bhutan, Nepal, West – India, Tajikistan, Pakistan, Afghanistan

Most important waterways: Yangtze River, Yellow River, Li River, East China Sea, Korean Bay, Yellow Sea, South China Sea

Area: China is the third largest country with an area of 9.6 million km2

Capital: Beijing

Important cities: Beijing, Shanghai, Chongqing, Guangzhou, Shenzhen, Chengdu, Hangzhou, Suzhou

Highest point: Mount Everest (29,035 ft)

Lowest point: Ayding Lake (-505 ft)

Time zone: UTC +8 hours Continue reading “Exploring China”